Home > Dharma Books >

Five Buddha Families and the Eight Consciousnesses

List Price: $7.00
Our Price: $4.00
Author: Thrangu Rinpoche
Publisher: Namo Buddha Publications
Format: Revised 2013, paper, 56 pages
ISBN: 9781931571517

Availability:: Usually Ships in 1 to 2 Business Days
Product Code: BK-10


Get the e-book! This book is available as an e-book in the following editions:

In tantric Buddhism or the Vajrayana one often encounters references to the five Buddhas or Buddha families which are Akshobhya, Amoghasiddhi, Amitabha, Vairocana, Vairocana, and Ratnasambhava. These deities are arranged in a mandala with one Buddha in each of the four directions and usually Vairocana in the middle. Each Buddha has a specific color, consort (feminine aspect), mudra, direction, and so on.

The Buddha families represent the purified mind at enlightenment and each Buddha is a purification of one of the main disturbing emotions.

Our disturbing emotions are created by the eight consciousnesses and in this text Thrangu Rinpoche describes each of these consciousnesses and how they contribute to our confusion which leads to the afflictions or disturbing emotions.

Finally, Thrangu Rinpoche describes how each of the consciousnesses and disturbing emotions is transformed into the five wisdoms upon enlightenment.

Published by Namo Buddha Publications

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Dharma Books